Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Hello from Derbyshire

Hello, my name is Sue and I am from Derbyshire. I have been researching our family trees for a couple of years. It all started when my mum showed me a photo of my granddad and she didn't know anything about his family. It all snowballed from there.
    I love gardening, cruising and sightseeing and of course genealogy. I also dislike the cold wet winters, but love warm summers.

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Quote Originally Posted by Suestew01 View Post
    Hello, my name is Sue and I am from Derbyshire. I have been researching our family trees for a couple of years. It all started when my mum showed me a photo of my granddad and she didn't know anything about his family. It all snowballed from there.
    I love gardening, cruising and sightseeing and of course genealogy. I also dislike the cold wet winters, but love warm summers.
    Hello Sue,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.
    Parts of your post will sound very familiar to most of us. Though in my case it was my dad's side which was the bigger mystery. The good news is that by various strokes of luck I've now got the direct line back to exactly 1700. Fortunately without a Smith, Johnson, Wilson, etc, in sight until the widow of the 1700 person remarries to a George Smith.

If you're stuck on a particular person, tell us as much as you already know about them and what you still need to know and our sleuths will see what they can find out.

Pam
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Hello Sue
    There not many of us from Derbyshire, whereabouts are you researching and I might be able to point you in the right direction for records.

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Derbyshire

Quote Originally Posted by Neil Wilson View Post
    Hello Sue
    There not many of us from Derbyshire, whereabouts are you researching and I might be able to point you in the right direction for records.