Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Maximum age for WWI service; Domestic service

I am a post-grad student from Austsralia researching an artist named Paul Sidney Goodwin (but he was commonly known as Sidney Goodwin) who was born in Southampton in 1875. A newspaper article in 1915 said he had "laid aside the brush for the sword in the service of his country". I can't be certain but I think he was in the army mainly because his father was a career soldier who had served in the Royal Engineers. I have looked on various subscription services (Forces War Records, Ancestry etc) but no "S. Goodwin" is a sure match.

1) At age 40 I assume he volunteered but could he have been conscripted?

2) How would the army have utilised a 40 year old volunteer? Would he have seen active service or would he have been used in a domestic capacity?

3) If he served in a domestic role would he have an actual army service record?

4) What are examples or domestic roles needed during WWI?

Many thanks to anyone who can answer my questions!

Regards,
    Steve

Welcome to the British Genealogy Forum.

Have you checked the WW1 medal index cards (to be seen on the subscription services)? If he served outside the UK, he should feature there. I did take a look but there's 32 Sidneys to be checked (and a couple of Pauls). It's common to not use both forenames on these lists.
    If he got to the Front in 1915, he should have the 1914/15 Star, which might help pick him out. The regiment of his father isn't really relevant - after the early optimism about the War, men got sent to whichever regiment was under strength.

Conscription in WW1 started in 1916 for men aged 18-40. The age limit was eventually raised to 51.