Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hughes family

Default Hughes family

I am having trouble finding any information locating a place of residence in pembrokeshire, my grandad was welsh ( Thomas Hughes and his father Lewis Hughes ) i need some help locating what i think was the place of residence it was called Galgate Hall Farm, i am new to this and only going of family information the Hughes family moved and settled in warrington, Lancashire,

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Do we presume that as you 'are new to this' that you haven't as yet found any relatives in a census, or the 1939 Register?
    So we'll start with granddad. Do you know when he was born? Was he married by 1939, and if so, what's his wife name and birthdate? Were they likely to be in Warrington in 1939, or still in Wales?
    (Though having just done a quick google search while I'm typing, Wales might be a red herring as it seems there's a place called Galgate near Lancaster.)

Anyway, for the moment, we'll concentrate on trying to find grandad in 1939, and then work our way back.
    Anything else you can tell us about grandad, and his dad, re ages, where they were definitely living at a certain time (e.g. living in Warrington in 1950 because your mum or dad was born there) will help.
    Remember not to mention living people.

Pam
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Hi Pam, thanx for your reply, grandad thomas hughes was born in warrington but his father Lewis Hughes was born in wales mum is elderly and remembers they came came to warrington from a farm in Machynlleth early 1900,s

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

We need the years Thomas was born, married, died, and if possible the same for Lewis.