Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Question Traveling to Scotland for research

Hello! I am a freelance writer and I have been assisting a client of mine with researching his ancestry. I have managed to trace his family back to 1635, when his 7th great-grandfather immigrated from London to Virginia. I have hit a brick wall in finding information about his family before that time, though. There is evidence that leads me to believe his family may have originated in Scotland.
    I was wondering if any of you can provide me any tips on doing research in Scotland, if I were to travel there? I am not a professional genealogist, but I am skilled at research. Do you think that it would be beneficial to find a professional genealogist, or is this research something I could do myself?

Thank you so much !!

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

it sounds as though you have made it quite far in your research on your own. Very impressive. Hiring a professional could help you, but the largest barrier to research is location of the resources. If you were able to travel to London and Edinburgh to do the research you would likely save quite a good deal of money as hiring a professional can be expensive and not necesarrily any better than doing the research on your own. The information is easily accessible and many of the facilities have people on staff to assist if you need them. In London you can start at the family records center and the library of society of genealogists. The ntional archives in kent is also very good. In Edinburgh the general register house and Scottish national archives will provide a lot of great information. Good luck in your search. Cheers- Peter

Brick wall demolition expert!

With respect to GoodleyP, the original poster lives in Denver, Colorado so the cost of a local researcher may well be more effective than the cost of travelling to the UK.