Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    harleyallison

Smile DNA search for 1 person only

I have just received my DNA test results back from A******* and am wondering is it possible to search for a specific person and if so how do I go about doing this.
    Please bear in mind that I am new to DNA testing.
    I am looking for grandparents x 3.

Thank you

hilarykellis

Hello,

I don't think this is possible. You can search by surname and location, though. E.g. "Ellis" born in "Wrexham, Wales" can be input when you go to your DNA matches page and "Search Matches."

I have had luck in that. For example, I have looked for everyone born in Ireland with surname "Minion," and found a lot of hints on who might be a relative that way.

Let me know if you need more advice on using the DNA tool on that website!

harleyallison

Thank you. I am trying to find my grandparents x 3.There is no paper trail before 1871 and searches for them in the places that they said that they were born in census reports have come up with nothing.
    I have posted in the brick wall section on here a good while ago.
    They can not be who they said they were.

I would be glad of any advice that you could give me about DNA searching.
    Thank you

harleyallison

I have entered just a surname in the place provided but there is also other surnames coming up in the area.
    Is this a good or bad thing ? How accurate are the surnames that come up. Does it mean that I share DNA with all these other people ?
    I have also just entered a place name but that was no good as my fathers mothers family are Irish and they seem to be everywhere.
    I am reading through Peter's fantastic advice on DNA in L*** C******.
    Thank you for your help as you can see from my post I do not have a clue how DNA works.

Valued member of Brit-Gen barbara lee's Avatar

Hello