Loves to help with queries

Default Dunningham-Hines families

H all,

I am just beginning tentative research into Dunningham and Hines lines, in particular to James Hines or Dunningham ( possibly used both surnames ) born Hadleigh c 1848 and would be intesested to hear from anyone else researching these families
    In 1851, he is aged age 3 living with John Dunningham in Angel Street and am looking to expand my knowledge of him. so any information eg a baptism would be very useful to begin with.

Regards

Tullamore

Rebecca Hines 30, Mariam (Mary Ann) Hines 13, Sarah Hines 3, John Dunningha 35, John Dunningham 15, in Hadleigh in 1841.
    HO107; Piece: 1022; Book: 8; Folio: 28; Page: 6.

1851, Hadleigh, HO107; Piece: 1790; Folio: 362; Page: 33
    John Dunningham 50, widow, Hadleigh
    Rebecca Hines 46, housekeeper, Selbury Essex
    Marian Hines 23, dau, Whatfield, Suffolk
    Sarah Hines 13, dau, Whatfield, Suffolk
    James Hines 3, son, Whatfield, Suffolk
    Betsy Dunningham 25, lodger
    John Dunningham 4, grandson

You need his birth certificate as the census isn't clear as to whose son he is, could be Rebecca's or Marian (Mary Ann's)
    HINES, JAMES, no mother's maiden name listed usually indicates an illegitimate birth. -
    GRO Reference: 1848 J Quarter in COSFORD Volume 12 Page 355

James Dunningham alias Hinds, labourer age 20, sentenced to 12 months hard labour 7th Aug 1868 for sheep stealing.

James Dunningham of Hadleigh was accused of horse stealing in May 1868. Essex Standard 13 August 1869
    Alma

This could be James in 1861, in the Reformatory School, Thorndon All Saints, indexed as James HINGS on Ancestry but the original sheet does look like HINES. There was a reference on one of the previous records I saw which mentioned he'd been in Reformatory School.
    RG 9; Piece: 1150; Folio: 142; Page: 27
    Alma

Quote Originally Posted by almach View Post