Starting to feel at home

Default Joseph Truman (1803 - 1873) - Wednesbury

My name is Robin Jarvis and I live in Barnstaple, Devon. I normally subscribe to the Norfolk county-wide Forum and this is my first attempt to post on the Staffordshire Forum so please put me right if I have not done things right. My query (rather a long one I'm afraid) is as follows:
    In the 1851 Census my gg grandfather, Joseph TRUMAN, was living at 95 Grove Lane, Hackney, Middlesex. He is described as a coachman, aged 47 and his place of birth is given as Wednesbury, Staffordshire. I have discovered that there were in Wednesbury in the early years of the 19th Century two couples with the surname TRUMAN or variant thereof. In fact in the 1801 Census for Wednesbury two households are listed under the names John TRUEMAN and Stephen TRUEMAN, both in the Wood Green area. In St. Bartholomew’s Church registers there are records for the baptisms of the following children of Stephen and Kezia TROMAN: Stephen (1798), Ann (1799), Esther Wilson (1801), James (1802), Mary (1805), Kezia (1806), Thomas (1808) and Esther (1809). I noted that there was a gap between James and Mary in which my gg grandfather might have been born, but I could find no baptism record for him. A possible year of birth in the range 1803-4 would fit well with the ages given for Joseph TRUMAN in the 1851, 1861 and 1871 censuses. There was also recorded a baptism of Mary Ann TROMAN on 16 Jul 1802 at the age of 2 years 7 months. She was said to be the daughter of John and Elizabeth TROMAN and would have been born about January 1800.