Thread: Army B102 form

Default Army B102 form

Hi There,

I have just received my grandfathers service records and am slowly working through them.
    I have a B102 form and under 'postings' I have the entry;
    DRAFT R.O.L.O.L MEF 21.1.46

Can anyone help as to what this may mean? Have tried various search engines but to no avail.

Many Thanks in advance

Elaine

Valued member of Brit-Gen MrsPoppy's Avatar

Hi Elaine, I am no expert but MEF was Middle Eastern Forces in WW2 as far as I am aware. Have you tried googling the date to see if anything happened on that date. Was he in some kind of draft force sent out on that day.

Mrs P

As an example from googling, "On 21st January 1946 The Stirling equipped 295 squadron disbanded at Rivenhall and 190 was re-numbered as 295."

Mrs P

Thank you for your swift reply MrsPoppy.

I will give this a try, am new to this and happy for any suggestions.

I know he spent time in Egypt and my mum said he told her he spent R&R in libyia, he is also mentioned
    in despatches in the London gazette (sourced from this site) but his records don't seem to refer to any of this?

Will keep trying!

Thanks once again

Elaine

Famous for offering help & advice simmo1's Avatar

Hi Elaine

The Mention in Despatches will be shown on his Medal Index Card as well as in the London Gazette. A letter would have been sent to his next of kin and he would have received the Mention as a piece of paper at some time. HIs service records should have some entry in them as well.
    What do you actually have on him?
    regards

Robert
    Remembering

My Father 1819170 Lance Bombardier Robert Simpson 39/14 L.A.A. R.A.

Hi Robert,