Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Sappers and Miners early 1800s

Hello All
    This will probably be the first of many posts asking questions relating to my military forebears who I have been researching for many years.
    This one relates to William Shore of Devon, his details are online on FMP (pension discharge 1819). He was given the funds when discharged to transport his family (wife and six children) to Plymouth. His daughter Sophia is my forebear, she married in 1844 in Plymouth and in censuses she claims to have been born in Woolwich c1818. In census of 1851 I have found William living with her and her husband (although I think his name is mis-transcribed as William Thorn a pensioner.) I have not been able to find Sophia's baptism at all nor his marriage or any information regarding his other 5 children in Woolwich or in Devon in years of searching.
    I have found a couple of 'Shore' males living nearby in 1851 who claim to be born in Newfoundland/Canada but I cannot prove a link between them and William.
    Does anybody know where information/records are where I could find information regarding this family ie baptisms and marriage?
    Also does anybody know how I can find out where William served? The peninsular or North America? Unlike infantry units the whereabouts of individual groups of Sappers and Miners are difficult to trace.
    Sorry about the length of post.

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello Ozzy73,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

And never apologise for
    Sorry about the length of post.
    The more information you can give us the better.
    And in fact I could have done with a little more, as I can't find William's pension discharge on FMP. Exactly which dataset is it in?

I presume this is daughter Sophia in 1851
    HO107/1879 folio 196 page 13
    parish of St Andrew, Plymouth
    Samuel Hallett, 27, mason, Plymouth
    Sophia, wife, 31, Woolwich,
    Elizabeth, daur, 6, Plymouth