Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    A fountain of knowledge

Default Death came as a Surprise

Not sure if this is the correct forum (alternative General Chatter??)

The following came from my GGg'dad's Death Cert. and came as a surprise to me as I was expecting COD to be a heart condition that has killed several of my ancestors at an early age.

Killed by being run over by a passing omnibus and underneath below a line Accident

Has anyone else been surprised by a cOD not being as expected?

Knowledgeable and helpful

My gt gt grandfather died aged 68. I expected the cause to be an illness or just old age but no. He died of injuries sustained during a fall from the main yard arm of a sailing ship. He was a ship's rigger by trade and still climbing the rigging at 68!
    I also have a 4xgt grandfather who was knocked down and killed by a horse and cart in 1858.

Emeltee

A fountain of knowledge

Quote Originally Posted by emeltee View Post
    My gt gt grandfather died aged 68. .... He died of injuries sustained during a fall from the main yard arm of a sailing ship. He was a ship's rigger by trade and still climbing the rigging at 68! ...
    WOW! That was a brave and active man. Climbing rigging was considered a younger man's job, except in an emergency.

Kiltpin

A great, great grand uncle of mine (who had never worked a day in his life), died in India at 30 years of age of persistent indolence.

Regards

Kiltpin

A fountain of knowledge

Valued member of Brit-Gen emmteeyess's Avatar

On my g.grandma's death cert. in 1896 cause of death is given as'General Paralysis of the Insane' which google tells me is a syndrome of madness and weakness occurring in tertiary syphilis. oh dear.
    However, her husband's cod some 6 years later was 'Heart attack' - no mention of him having the syphilis too.