Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default James (JIM) Martin from WW1 - Blackheath

Good Morning All.

I am very new to this and hoping someone may be able to point me in the right direction. I am trying to trace one of my dads uncles. I have very little starting information about him other than the following:
    He lived in Greenwich and apparently joined up for WW1 at the nearest army base (which I believe may have been Blackheath/Woolwich). He was only 14 years old and lied about his age to get in. He was posted abroad and the only further news the family had was that he died.

Sadly, there are no living family members I know who have any knowledge of him. Despite my efforts to trace him I am going around in circles.

His name was James ('JIM') Martin.

So to recap... I don't know for sure his regiment, the date he joined, where he went and how/where he died. Do I stand ANY chance of ever finding him? Comments welcome please!

Growing old Disgracefully

Do you know when (dates) and where (place) your dads Uncles where born and their mother and fathers names. That would give you maybe a start.

Growing old Disgracefully

CWGC - Commonwealth War Graves Commission Site gives you 441 records for the name James Martin.

Having a look at the names do you know if he had a second Christian name, if not you can disregard all the pages from 5 onward.

Its another one of these sites that give you anything with the Martin J not what you actually want (if you know what I mean) ie. John Martin or J. Martin.

Reputation beyond repute

Make sure you have his basic facts right. Full name, exact date of birth, parents' names, address.

If he died during the war, he should be listed on the Commonwealth War Graves Commission site.

Go to the CWGC site and call up all the people called James Martin (if that was his full name) who died during WW1. There will be a lot of them. Work through the list looking for a reference to his parents and/or home address.