MaryFrances

Default Help Needed With Organizing Information.

I have been researching my family history on and off for several years and have much information, some on a family tree online(which can be printed off) and lots of stuff just on bits and pieces of paper. I need to get it all together somehow, in a simple form. Our four children each want a copy of the history, including photos., certificates, records of burial, newspaper articles, etc. Please can someone tell me how to organize all of this?

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

There is no one right answer. What I suggest will have at least six people shaking their head and saying 'no, that's not the way'. Equally I may disagree with other people's suggestions.

One very well-respected former BG member relied on just a card index system. Though I think that was started almost before computers were invented.

What we would all probably agree on is the need to get rid of the bits and pieces of paper first.
    It doesn't matter if you transfer the information to another sheet of paper or to a page on the computer but one name, one page.
    I would head it up with the BMD plus any baptism and burial details you have. Might even add census refs, age at cenus, where living, etc. Add in wife, kids. If you're writing in an exercise book/similar you can cross reference these by saying 'see page x'. (Useful if you have a common surname or lots of people with the same first names - I have three Thomas Williams who are known as TW1793, TW1875, and TW1900. )

If your photos are in an album with transparent pockets consider putting them in some sort of time order, then either stick a number on each pocket for cross reference, or just on the page, and you can say 'page 10 top right'.
    Then make a list of all the photos and who's who in which ones.

Same sort of thing with newspaper articles - are they in one folder on your computer? How are they named? All in the same way?