Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Race Family in Bishop Auckland, Durham area

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting so please bear with me. I am from the United States and have run up against a brick wall in attempts to further trace my family. All of my ancestors come from the Bishop Auckland area, most from the St Andrews Parish. This is as far back as I can go and records are incomplete. John Race is my 4th great grandfather.

John Race b1801 d1872 married to Ann Hull b Apr 7, 1803 - St.Helens Auckland Durham, England d July 1879. Marriage St Andrew, Aukland, Durham, England, July 14th 1822

Children:

Mary Race b1824 Auckland, St Andrew, Durham, England
    Ann Race b1825 Bishop Auckland, Durham, England
    John Race Jr b abt 1831 Bishop Auckland, Durham, England, married to Margaret Greenwell DEc 18th, 1852 - Parish Church, St Andrew Auckland, Durham, England.
    Agnes Race b Dec 6 1835 Bishop Auckland, Durham, England
    Jane Race b Jan, 1844 Bishop Auckland, Durham, England

I am looking for any information I can find! Current family living, any direction or link that could be of assistance in tracing any records regarding marriages, birth, death, burial. I have record of baptism for all the above children stating Auckland Saint Andrew, Durham, England.

John Race Jr & Margaret Greenwell had many children, one being Joseph Sibley Race, my 2nd great gransfather. He migrated to the United States in 1844 with his wife, Maria Hall Redman (Readman).

Again, any information from anyone would be very much appreciated! I am planning a trip there in 2017 and would like to confiirm as much as I can beforehand. The trip is for this purpose.

Thanks in advance.... Mark

Famous for offering help & advice gortonboy's Avatar

hi,,do you have the family in the census returns?