Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Great Grandparents from Colchester, Essex

I am looking for information on my great grandparents both born in Colchester, Essex
    Alice May Victoria Ward born March 17, 1878 and married David DeHaney born 1877

They immigrated to Canada prior to 1912.

As I am a beginner in searching, any leads or info is valuable!
    Thank you

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hi Tracy,

Some details about David and Alice, with some 'how to/what to' information thrown in.

For anyone born between 1 July 1837 and approximately 20 December 1983 start with FreeBMD.
    https://www.freebmd.org.uk/ then click search.
    This is still an ongoing project to transcribe the GRO Index (General Register Office) of all BMDs (births, marriages, and deaths) registered in England and Wales between 1 July 1837 and 31 Dec 1983. (Now working on 1940s onwards, though some chunks of earlier records are still to be transcribed.)
    You are allowed six weeks in which to register a birth, so bear in mind that someone born even in say, November 1900, could have their birth registered in March quarter 1901.
    The GRO Index is split into quarters (Mar, June, September, December) and for the March one will cover births registered between 1 Jan and 31 Mar that year. (You can do the maths for the other quarters. )
    FreeBMD has a superb search engine – you can even search using first names only, provided you narrow down the year/county/registration district to avoid getting over 3000 hits in one go.

Whichever database you’re searching it’s usually wise to extend your dates from what you think is correct. Most records are usually based on ‘age at time of event’ which when you’re searching doesn’t make allowances for whether someone has already had their birthday that year or not. You will also be surprised how many people only age five or seven years in the ten years between censuses.