Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    eli555

Talking swansea in 1800's-1900's

Hi,
    MY name is Elaine & I am new to this site. I have been researching my family tree for 2 yrs & like many hit a brick wall to move me on. I am looking for photo's of certain areas of Swansea, such as Bargemans Row/court, Dynevor Place, Squire place & Trafalgar terrace. Iv been unable to find any info on these areas although I have a good idea as to where they were. Photo's would certainly help me & if anybody could point me in the right direction as with any family research tips, I would greatly appreciate it.

A very, very warm welcome from a fellow Swansea resident (but not a "Jack")

Have you checked "Welsh Newspapers online" - welshnewspapers.llgc.org.uk/en/home
    I checked for ""bargeman's row" (include the " " in the search key) and it threw up 239 hits. Haven't checked if they are all Swansea -many/most appear to be.

What about the "Cambrian Index" (on line) - although this is covered now by Welshnewspapers - but is a useful search tool.

You can also check "Old maps" - www.old-maps.co.uk/index.html - put Swansea in the Search box and hit go. You can scroll around the modern map, click on the area you are interested in and then load the "1880 Town Plans".

"Dynevor Place" can be searched for direct.
    "dyfal donc a dyr y garreg"

Swansea Archives - extremely helpful staff. Have you visited and worked through the volumes of photos of old Swansea?

You can search their catalogues on line at www3.swansea.gov.uk/CalmView/Catalogue.aspx

I put the search key "bargeman's row" (without the " " this time) in the Search/Chwiliwch box top right hand corner and had a couple of hits.

Famous for offering help & advice gortonboy's Avatar

hi,,,welcome to the forum,,,why not post the details of your brickwall,and see if the knowledgable members here can help?

"Squire's Place"

click on old maps and enter coordinates 265826 193076
    when loaded click on the 1879-80 Town Plans