lise7894

Default Dispatches Mention Information

Hello
    I'm trying to find out a little about my Great Grandfathers WW1 experiences. His name was William James Coulter born 1880 Prince of Wales Own West Yorks division Co Sejt - May No 200713

I know that he was mentioned in Dispatches on the 22nd May 1917, however where can I find out more about the reasons for this? Can this be done online? Is there a place to tell me what medals he received. My grandmother remembers they were allowed to play with them in the garden??

Many Thanks for your input I'm very new to this !
    Last edited by lise7894; 08-11-2012 at 5:42 PM. Reason: More info req

Nicolina

you could try the Regiments website at
    https://www.
    pwo-yorkshire.museum/
    they also have a museum in York.
    Elaine (who's father was in the 1st/5th West Yorks)

Reputation beyond repute

Co Sejt - May
    Er. The medal index card shows his rank as Co. Serjt.-Maj. In other words, Company Sergeant Major.

Have you been through all the medal cards? I can see reference to the British War Medal & Victory medal.

Why is W J COULTER also shown as W J EVANS?

Was he a regular? If so his service record may still be with the MoD. Have you applied for a copy?

Reputation beyond repute

One of the cards says he was in the 2/5th Battalion. IF this is correct, you may like to get hold of the book (eg via your local library service) called "Massacre on the Marne: The Life and Death of the 2/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment in the Great War" by Fraser Skirrow, ISBN: 1 84415 496 3

Apparently the battalion was a second line territorial unit so he may not have been a regular.

lise7894

Thank you for your responses

My Gt Grandfathers foster parents name was Evans, he seems to have gone back to his birth name Coulter during WW1

I have managed to obtain his Certificate of employment during the war where it mentions he was enlisted as a Clerk. It also states he was wounded twice whilst in France