Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    allyjane

Default Help me find Lewis Lyon

Hello, this is my first time on this site, I am trying to trace my ggg grandfather Lewis Lyon I can find no record of his birth, I have though found that he was baptized in 1811 where he converted from Judaism all other records I have census etc which he says he was born in City of London 1791, has anybody any ideas Thanks Allyjane

Do you have any additional information on Lewis Lyon- who did he marry; who were his children; what census records data do you have? The more information you can supply the better chance of finding new data.
    Have you looked on Cemetery and Synagogue Scribes sites- I can see various references to Lewis Lyon but have insufficient data to confirm whether or not the records are relevant.
    Phillip

Mutley

Hello and welcome to the forum.
    Quite often you will not find a birth date prior to 1837 when births started to be officially registered.
    A baptism or christening, if you are lucky, may have a birth date but not often.

There is a Lewis Lyon that looks to be a possible in the census - married to a Caroline. Is he yours?

If so, the marriage entry is very interesting.
    Lewis Lyon of Mile End Old Town, a bachelor married Caroline Dunkin of the same place, a spinster.
    at Stepney St Dunstan and All Saints on 5 June 1814.

Then it is all crossed out, big lines horizontally through it and in the margin it says:
    "Forbid, neither of the parties being resident in the Parish"

As Phillip said, please tell us more so we know if we are searching for the right Lewis Lyon.

Mutley

The baptism of Lewis Lyon (if I have the right one) was at St Antholin, Budge Row, City of London on 5 June 1811.

It just says "Lewis Lyon, an adult, jew, was baptised June 5 1811"

I should think Phillip's advice on where to look would be your best option.