Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sherlock

Jennifer60

Default Sherlock

Hello I'm fairly new to searching and seem to be going around in circles, I'm looking for information on my great grandfather Robert Sherlock dob around 1847 in Ireland (cork) his wife's maiden name (Hannah Shine)is listed as a widow in the census for and 1911 and 1901. I would also like to find any info on their first son also Robert Sherlock born 1891, I particularly would like to know how my great grandfather died and where? My great grandmother's age is listed as 38 in the 1901 census and 36 in the 1911 census? also very confusing? my grandfather John and his siblings are listed on both census records,any help would be much appreciated,many thanks Jennifer
    Last edited by Jennifer60; 16-10-2012 at 11:45 AM. Reason: typo

MarkJ

Can you give the census references for the family in 1901 and 1911 so that members here will be able to identify the family in earlier records?

Ages on census forms can be taken with a pinch of salt at times. It depends who gave the information and if they knew the actual ages of those other folk in the dwelling. A few years here and there is very common

Reputation beyond repute

This is isn't an Irish genealogy question is it, by any chance? If so, this site has more appropriate forums eg "General Irish Family History"

Coromandel

In case it helps others in the search, this looks like the family in Devonshire Lane, Cork (City) in 1901:

https://www.census.nationalarchives.i.../nai000525780/

and still there in 1911:
    https://www.census.nationalarchives.i.../nai001883581/