sonjabuk

Default Hughina Colquhoun Campbell and Flora Campbell

Hi all

Im new to the Canadian section having just found out where my Great Aunts disappeared to!

My have the Campbell family going back to the 1790s in and around Glasgow/Torosay and Oban area.

One side of the family McDonald did come over to Canada - but its not them in particularly interested at the moment.

Hughina Flora Campbell 1903 Glasgow - in 1927 I have her on the Letticia coming back from Quebec. So have spent loads of time looking for when she WENT. Hit gold last night and found her in 1924 on the Regina - but suprise suprise she is going to join her sister FLORA 1888 Glasgow -

Address listed as 67 Redpath Street Montreal.

So - more searching when did Flora go? Answer 1923 on the Saturnia - with destination address of 3808 Manse Street Montreal residence of a Mr Herbert Swinton (Swanton/Serinton) a friend.

No idea of this gentlemans origins, not what sort of friend he was. They certainely did not marry before 1930 as i have Flora back in Glasgow at the Wedding of another sister.

Can anyone shed any light on this please?

By what I read on the forms for Hughina (Ina) she intended to go back.

Sonja

Brick wall demolition expert!

Herbert Swinton's arrival in Canada is documented on an immigration record, Form 30A, arriving in Montreal on June 23, 1922 on the Montclare. (Ancestry.com database - Canada, Ocean Arrivals).

He is 22, born Cellardyke Scotland, a baker, and is going to join his brothers. His contact on arrival is his brother W. Robert Swinton, 2663 Manse Street, Montreal. His nearest relative in country from which he came is father Thomas Swinton, Invercarron Cottage, Stonehaven, N. B.

--------------------------

Parish register entry for the Presbyterian church of St Andrew and St Paul in Montreal (Ancestry.com Drouin parish register collection):