Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Carolyn O'Flaherty

Default Family Tree Maker

Hello,

Most of my extensive family history is recorded on a PAF Family Tree. I also have the companion report maker programme.

I have a subscription to A*try and have some of my family info is on a A*try family tree. I like that I can search A*try and directly attach infomation such as Census returns to my A*try family tree.

I've been having a dabble in the A*try section called "Print & Share" - subsection, Project then Family History Book. I started a family history book "project" and I really like how the book is being automatically set out ie , timelines, automatically including data from my tree and also including images of Census Reports etc. with good summaries and family group set outs.

I think I have (at least) 2 problems (Well..... I've got more than that but I'm only talking about writing my family history for the moment).

1. I don't think I can import my PAF information to my A*try family tree

2. If I stop subscribing to A*try then it seems that I won't have access to the Family history book I am compiling.

I have had a look at A*try's Family Tree Maker programme and it seems it would give me direct access to A*try searches. I could also export my PAF data to FTM and I could access the project section for my ongoing famiily history book. BUT if I stop subscribing to A*try I will lose access to my book. I could print it out but I wouldn't be able to add to it via a programme.

I've had a look at The Master Genaelogist programme and I am impressed by the extensive reports and analysis that can be generated. I would like to get into that sort of thing.

I see TMG also has a book publishing feature but it doesn't seem to be in a similar style to the A*try. one, but at least I would always have the TMG one.