Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Roll Call

Default Roll Call

Since I've had time off for good behaviour and other assorted reasons, it seems a good idea to start a roll call and see how many OPSs we have represented here. Just tell us which place you're studying, how big your study area is (a street, a parish, a county...) and anything else you feel like sharing.

To start, I'm studying the Berwickshire parish of Whitsome and Hilton. What started as a 1-house study swiftly grew into a look at the whole (tiny) village, and thence to the surrounding farms that make up the bulk of the parish. I'm interesting in pretty much anything involving the parish, at any point in history, and am trying to put the data together into a coherent story which may one day become a book. In the mean time, I'm building databases and putting data that's less easy to find on my website, together with information contributed by others.

My current big problem is finding the records of the (now closed) parish school. They're not in the National Archvies for Scotland, Borders Archives, Borders FHS or anywhere else I can think of.

Lesley

vivdunstan

Hi Lesley,

Nice to find this online forum. I miss the old mailing list version.

I've two one-place studies, though in a very informal way, not actively seeking to offer any more lookups (though I do some). I'm extremely ill long-term (can be knocked out for huge periods, leading to a backlog of up to 6 months of email), but for my own research enjoyment I've slowly gathered info about the places concerned, though it's a very low-level of activity now.