Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Ken Boyce

Default Copyright and Constraints on the use of BMD Certs

Came across this today

https://www.opsi.gov.uk/advice/crown-...-registers.htm

BMD Certs are not facsimiles or copies of old records like say an image of a census page.

Thay are notarised legal documents and as such have constraints on their use in addition to any Crown Copyright constraintsl

Name well known on Brit-Gen

Reads as tho' we can still share with a Cousin of the same line, or in the event of awrong cert, pass it to a member of the correct Family. In a genealogical way of course.

mfwebb

Default Certificate Transcripts

I produce my own transcripts of certificates I and my wife obtain.

I have a master form (as an Excel Spreadsheet) for births, marriages and deaths (red, green and black respectively). I input the information into the appropriate columns then save as a pdf file. That way, I have a full transcript of the certificate and I can send them to family in America.

They are clearly marked as a transcript done by me, and have my name and the date of the transcription clearly marked.

I presume this is not illegal!!

A transcript is ok but copying as in creating an image of the certificate is really a big fat no.
    Sadly, our dear friend Ann (alias Ladkyis) passed away on Thursday, 26th. December, 2019.
    Footprints on the sands of time

Guy Etchells

First point the 1988 Copyright Act is not retrospective therefore it only concerns certificates produced since 1988.

Second all the various Acts of Parliament allows unlimited copying of all Parish Register and Civil Registers by the Public.
    This has also been tried in courts with the finding in favour of individuals copying registers. Precedents have already been set.

Third Parish Registers including Marriage Registers are the copyright of the present incumbent of the particular church. They are not, repeat not subject to Crown copyright.