Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    clive_t

Default Trying to find ancestors' names from WW1 records

Good evening everybody

I've just stumbled across this site by accident - so I thought I would chance my arm and join up.

I have recently embarked on researching my family history - mostly anecdotal evidence so far, but one of the things that interests me is the story that my maternal grandfather lost 2 of his brothers in WW1 - he of course survived. I'm trying to find out a bit more about where and when they died. I am told their names feature on a war memorial in Bristol, but that's about it.

I've done numerous searches of the internet, using 'Roll of Honour' and 'Bristol' as part of the search, without any luck. Can anyone suggest any specific sites to search, or organisations to enquire with?

I did try the National Archives site, but no matches for the specific names.

Sorry if this is sounds a silly question, but I'm still quite new to all this family research stuff!

Thanks in advance

Clive

Jo Simpsons

Starting to feel at home

Smile Ancestors WW1

The site that Jo Simpson has given you is excellent, only last night I found a relative of mine that died in action in 1917 in France. Well worth a look.

David Wilkins Auckland NZ

Linda Bailey

Smile

Hi
    A site I only came across yesterday is:

https://www.wargraves.org.uk/

I've volunteered to go to the local church and photograph the graves there to add to the collection that they are building up.

Which name are you looking for and I could check the War Memorial near me in Bristol but I suspect there are a great many throughout the city.

Linda

clive_t

Thanks all for your replies.

I have tried the sites mentioned, sadly no matches on either. I wonder if they are 2 of the many with 'no known grave'?