Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New design - your opinion please

I have re-designed one of my web sites and would like your opinion whether the new one would work before I complete it.
    The new front page is at https://www.rootsweb.com/~engcclay/indexnew.htm
    With the drop down menus, only the top three have been programmed with existing pages, the bottom 3 drop downs are just copies of one of them.

the old site is at https://www.rootsweb.com/~engcclay/
    Cheers
    Neil

MarkJ

Comparing both sites side by side is interesting.
    The old one - in Firefox, running at 1024x768 - displays a little awkwardly. The left hand column, with the links, seems to be too far to the right - which means I can see very little of the wording without using the scroll bar which appears.
    For my money, the new design is much cleaner. The drop down boxes are quite intuitive.
    Not that I am a designer by any means But I prefer the clean lines of the newer design myself.

Mark

HelenVSmith

Hi

I found the new design was less cluttered and appeared crisp and clean . Not so sure about colour choice.

Another button I would suggest would be an index of surnames.

Regards
    Helen

Thumbs up

Thank you both for your replies. I have just added a few more hyperlinks so that the drop down boxes work and does show page not found. It was cause by my tpying fingers hitting the wrong keys..
    This is the first time I have done a page purely in code, normally I use FrontPage.

Regarding the colours - any suggestions welcome, please send the # code

Helen - thank you for volunteering to do the indexing on my site
    cheers
    Neil
    Last edited by Neil Wilson; 12-05-2006 at 7:19 PM.

Mary Young

Hi, Neil
    Just my tuppenceworth.
    Ease of access
    Old design is easier for the casual visitor to "skim". I can see the full list of contents at a glance. New design - it's harder to find the content within the drop-downs.
    Mouse