Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    pockets

Default McCracken - Carter families

Greetings from New Zealand,

I'm looking for my great grandfather, David McCracken born 1859 Padstow, his father was James McCracken who married Phillipa Carter.
    David married Jessie Ann Inkster here in New Zealand. I have no idea when he migrated to NZ so any info of the above would be most appreciated.

I'm very new to this genealogy and have got hooked very quickly
    Thanks in advance
    Julianne

Scottie

Thumbs up James McCracken born Scotland married in Cornwall

Quote Originally Posted by pockets
    Greetings from New Zealand,

I'm looking for my great grandfather, David McCracken born 1859 Padstow, his father was James McCracken who married Phillipa Carter.
    Julianne
    Hello Julianne,
    I can tell you that James McCracken was not born in Padstow. He was a Mariner born in Scotland. I believe Philippa Carter to be the daughter of William Baron Carter and Maria Langdon married 22 sep 1814 in St Mawgan. Most of their children were born in St Columb Minor but Philippa says she was born St Mawgan or Padstow in the censuses. I can take the Langdons back to about 1720 in St Columb Major. William Baron Carter was also a Mariner and was dead by 1851 so I have been unable to find his birthplace as yet.

James and Philippa had 4 children in Padstow all baptised as Bible Christians.

Scottie

Thumbs up James McCracken's children

Part 2

The children were Janet born 1855 Padstow christened 28 Oct 1858 on St Ervan Bible Christian Circuit married a man called Anderson and had a son born 1878 in Padstow. She was in London in 1881

Mary was born in 1856 and baptised with Janet. She married a Thomas Boulter and was also in London in 1881

James was born 1858 and christened on the same date as the girls. I have no sighting of him after 1861