Question 24th Battalion the queens (London regiment).

I'm trying (with great difficulty)to find any information on the 24th Battalion the queens London regiment. Can anyone please help? I have interest in this regiment because my grandfather served in this force. His name was Henry Friend Russell, service number 735071, rank Private.

What I'm particularly interested in is the actions of the regiment during its time in France in ww1. What were the achievements of the regiment? What were their failures? What were the achievements of Henry Friend Russell?

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello pauldogs-0,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

Firstly, I've moved your post to the more appropriate WW1 forum.

I'm not a military expert but I do know that The National Archives in Kew have war diaries for most regiments. However searching for "24th Battalion the queens London regiment" brought up the following results, none of which seem particularly helpful.
    https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/...ondon+regiment
    I've probably confused the system by using too many words - perhaps 'the queens London regiment' would have been a better starting point! Other members are much more expert than me, and I'm sure at least one of them will be along to help. In the meantime you could be brave yourself and have a fiddle around TNA's website. https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
    You're unlikely to find Henry mentioned by name in the war diaries.
    Have you been lucky enough to find his service records? About 70% of those records were destroyed by fire, and then bombing in WW2.

Pam
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Just a little background for others wanting to help

UK, Army Registers of Soldiers' Effects, 1901-1929
    Henry Friend Russell killed in action in 23 July 1918 France
    Credit of effects July 1918
    3 pounds 8 shilling and 7 pence 3 September 1917 Sole legatee Widow Maria J