Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default John Maurice Thomas c1874

Hello

I'm totally new to geneology. I've literally just accessed the England and Wales 1911 census, to find out if my great grandfather spoke Welsh or not, which it says he did! I'm descended patrinlineally as a Carmarthenshire Thomas. a John Maurice Thomas was my great grandfather, born in Llanboidy parish in around 1874 (listed as 37 in 1911) If I take this further it could be hard work as there are so many Thomas' in Carmarthenshire!
    This branch of the family were farmers, which I already knew, but I was not expecting 'servants' to be listed on the census. Surprisingly the two female domestic staff were also Thomas' including a 'Phoebe Britania Thomas', a wonderful period name is it not?. There were two male staff, a 'Horseman' and a 'cacr man'. I really want to know what a cacr man was (I may be mis-reading the handwriting). All I know was that he was 15 and it was a mainly a dairy farm. Any ideas?

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

.. It could be related to cachu (a Cymraeg word for poo), so this lad's job may have mucking out the cows. Does this sound plausible?

Welcome to the British-Genealogy forums
    First of all I have moved your post to the Carmarthenshire forum and given it the title John Maurice Thomas c1874 Carmarthenshire. It will get more views in this forum I think. If you want the title changed just say.
    The name Phoebe Brittannia Thomas intrigued me so I looked on FreeBMD for her birth registration and there was only one then I went on the GRO index for her birth registration because the GRO index gives the maiden name of the mother and this is it.
    Phoebe Brittannia THOMAS, mother's maiden name LEWIS
    GRO Reference: 1895 Sept Quarter registration district NARBERTH Vol 11A Page 1169
    Christina
    Sometimes paranoia is just having all the facts.
    William Burroughs