Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need help with Paulet/Pawlett family

Hello,
    I’ve been chasing an ancestor of mine for 20 years and i think we’ve finally had a breakthrough.
    Due to the fact he had an alias i’ve been searching both names and really got nowhere until I realised his convict document listed his father as William Paulet. After his transportation to Australia he only used the surname Harris, so i think we’ve mostly considered Harris as the family name in Wales. Anyway, we now know his surname is actually Pawlett and he’s slightly older than convict documents list.
    I found a baptism for William Pawlett, with father William and mother Anne. William and Anne Paulet are listed in the 1841 census with children that doesn’t include William. I found William aged 17 on his own, or so i thought but he’s actually listed with James and Elizabeth Llewhellin. i am certain this is my ancestor William as his grandson in Australia had Llewellyn as a first name. We always thought this would be a clue to finding him.
    Anne Paulet is listed as having Harris/Harries as a maiden name but i can’t find a marriage for William and Anne.
    I’ve also been trying to find if there’s a family connection between Pawlett/Paulett or Harris and Llewhellin to explain why he was with James and Elizabeth Llewhellin in 1841.on one of the comvict documents it says he has an Uncle “hughtyn” Harris of Pembroke Mountain and we’re thinking Hughty was meant to be Llewhellin but the person writing it wasn’t familiar with Welsh names, didn’t know how to spell it, tried to go phonetically and then crossed the L to make it a t by accident

Of course, i could be completely wrong about all of this. I’ve tried searching for Anne and William’s other children to find connections but they seem to come to dead ends pretty quickly.

If someone could tell me i’m barking up the wrong tree because this can’t possibly make sense that would be helpful too.

Super Moderator