Default Elizabeth Smith/Schmidt?

Hello everyone,

As most can probably tell by now I am not very good at my English genealogy, I have another query

So before Ancestry DNA updated their ethnicity results in about September 2020, my DNA was 4% German, and my uncle's DNA was 6% German. After the update, my German was replaced with French, and his German remained. I understand that sometimes doing genealogy solely referencing ethnicity won't be very accurate, but I wonder if my family actually is German based on a baptism I've found:

The ancestor in particular I'm researching was named Elizabeth Smith. She was married to George Birkett in 1852, Heaton Norris Lancashire. Her marriage Bann gives her father's name as Joseph Smith, a labourer. She and George had several children - Maryann, Samuel, Ellen, John, Joseph, Amelia, and Thomas. I cannot find Elizabeth Smith in any 1851 or 1841 census, and I found a possible baptism in 1823 Elizabeth Smith daughter of Joseph and Mary Horer, but I think it could be with an umlaut on the O. It makes me think whether or not Elizabeth's parents were immigrants from Germany, her father's surname being Schmidt. Of course, I could be getting ahead of myself and it could be that this side of the family isn't German, but regardless I would love to settle this. If anyone would be so kind as to help me find Elizabeth in a census before she got married, or any other kind of direction, I would be so grateful!

- Danile

Some information for others wishing to help
    Elizabeth Smith
    Age 29
    Birth Date - 1823
    Marriage Date - 31 May 1852
    Marriage Place: St. Thomas, Heaton-Norris, Lancashire, England
    Father Joseph Smith
    Spouse - George Birkett
    FHL Film Number - 2113093

1861 RG9 Piece 2565 Folio 56 Page 17
    26 Queen Street Stockport
    George Birkett 39 Provisional dealer
    Elizabeth Birkett 38
    Mary Ann Birkett 7
    Samuel Birkett 5
    Ellin Birkett 3
    John Birkett 1
    Ann Hosford 16