Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Royal Scots Greys Regiment

Hi
    My name is Caroline Black and I have been researching my family for about 10 years now but have always become stuck looking for a Andrew Black who was my grandfather, we no little history of him. One thing I do recall was my dad talking about his dad being in the Royal Scots Greys Regiment. He we know later worked in stables and was a groom so assume this had something to do with his military time. Can anyone point me or help me with this we know he was born 1888/1889 but died at the age of 48 in 1936. Any help would be appreciated. Many thanks.

Do you have any other odd snippets of information that might help him to stand out from the crowd?
    Where did he live? What was your father's name and where/when was he born (assuming he is no longer with us). What was your grandmother called?

Is that him shown on FreeBMD as having died in Newcastle on Tyne in the June quarter of 1936? That immediately tells me to stop looking for him in Scotlands People!
    When the name is not rare, anything might help...

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Quote Originally Posted by Lesley Robertson View Post
    Do you have any other odd snippets of information that might help him to stand out from the crowd?
    Where did he live? What was your father's name and where/when was he born (assuming he is no longer with us). What was your grandmother called?

Is that him shown on FreeBMD as having died in Newcastle on Tyne in the June quarter of 1936? That immediately tells me to stop looking for him in Scotlands People!
    When the name is not rare, anything might help...
    Hi Lesley

Thankyou for coming back to me.
    My dad was Frank Black and was born 23.03.1928 but unfortunately he died last year. My dad grew up in Newcastle upon Tyne, his mother was called Louisa Ireland but I could never find a marriage certificate for Andrew and her, they are both recorded on his birth certificate.