Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Israel and Eve Alexander

Hello,
    I’m looking for information about the early lives of my ancestors Israel & Eve Alexander.

Israel Alexander - born c1787 in Shadwell (according to census), later lived in Finsbury, auctioneer and horse dealer
    Eve / Eva Alexander - born c1786 in London, I don’t know her birth name (possibly Aarons but I can’t find a reliable source for this)

In 1841 according to the census they were living in Chiswell-Street, Finsbury with their younger children. I have more information about their lives after this point, but very little before.

I’m ideally looking for help with
    1) Any marriage records (I don’t know the date but probably before 1807 based on ages of children etc)
    2) Possible parents’ names

I’m quite new to genealogy so I really appreciate any help. I understand that this isn’t much information to go on so any general pointers would be great too.
    G

As a start take a look at JewishGen UK Data bases. Israel appears in several records including the 1851 Anglo Jewry Data base ID 30031. There are earlier records including 1831. I can't see a marriage record as yet but I will look further. Have you already looked on Synagogue Scribes records- I took a quick look but couldn't see them. Eva maybe Eve looking at the Petra Laidlaw 1851 notes on JewishGen.
    I have an interest in Alexander and Aarons last names because of marriages into some of my own lines and am always looking further for possible further links.
    Phillip-Jewish,British Ancestry

"The only true dead are those who have been forgotten"

See also Cemetery Scribes Israel Alexander ID 3018 and the death record for Flora. In this record Israel dob is given as 1791 and Flora b 1821.

Thank goodness you are on the case Phillip
    I did try some searching yesterday but I need a lot more practice just in the basics of Jewish genealogy research so I will start by reading some of your previous threads for hints and links.