Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Bailey / Cotterill Mystery?

Hello everyone!

I am new to this wonderful website. I have been researching my ancestry for less than a year now, but I have several brick walls I've hit. Hopefully anyone here can offer me some knowledge or direction regarding this one:

My great-great-grandfather was named Colin "Cotterill" Bailey, born in 1889 in Macclesfield, Cheshire. He had several brothers and sisters, and his mother was named Margaret Burgess (born about 1855) and his father was named John Henry Bailey (born about 1860, profession: stone mason).

I have discovered lots on Margaret's side of the family, but everything stops at John Henry Bailey. My grandmother always knew that her grandfather's middle name was Cotterill, but she had no idea where it came from. I did some more research, and it is common for mothers to give their children their maiden name as a middle name. But the name Cotterill doesn't appear anywhere on Margaret's side of the family.

This is where it gets a bit odd - in the 1871 census (if I'm not mistaken), Margaret Burgess lives with her mother, her siblings, and a lodger named John Henry Cotterill, born 1860, and was also a stone mason like my great-great-grandfather. They have to be the same person. But why does his surname switch from Cotterill to Bailey?

I found Margaret Burgess and John Henry Bailey's wedding bann, and it lists John Henry without a father. The space is just blank. However, in the 1891 census, after John Henry and Margaret have had several kids, there is a lodger staying with them, named James Bailey, retired. I think this is John Henry's step father, and he changed his surname from Cotterill to Bailey to make himself appear legitimate, but I'm not sure. I'm lost and can't find anything on John Henry Cotterill.