Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Researching Cohen/Barron family tree

Hello all,

I only discovered this forum yesterday and am eager to take a proper looked around at posts.

I have been doing my family tree on and off for a couple of years, my grandfather did not share/know much about his family. I believe that his fathers family were from Courland, Dennenburg (I have managed to find a naturalisation cert)and his mothers family were from Russia (this info is taken from a census). I am finding it very difficult to go back any further than my Great Great Grandparents.

I have recently found out that my Grandfathers Aunt spent time and passed away in Colney Hatch Mental Hospital, I believe that to gather any more information on her time there I need to have a death certificate which I have not been able to find yet.

Hopefully people may be able to help and point me in the right direction.

Esther

Super Moderator

Perhaps you would like to give names of the people you are looking for, especially your grandfather's aunt. What was her maiden name and was she married? If so what was her married name?

Hi Sue,

Thank you so much for your reply.

My Grandfather Michael Cohen b. 26.01.1926 in London and d. 30.09.2005 in Nottinghamshire. His Father Mark Cohen b. 13.03.1879 in Dennenburg, Courland and d. 11.04.1960 in London. I have located a naturalization certificate for him which states his parents are Solomon Cohen and Rachael Cohen. I have not been able to go any further back than this. I believe my Grandfathers Father was married 3 times to Rachel Harris in 1904, Annie Barron in 1919 and Esther Horowitz in 1928.