Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Looking for "Atkin"

I am new to the British Genealogy site. I live in the state of Michigan in the USA. I have been trying to find information on my ancestors in England with the surname "Atkin" My great grandfather Fredrick Atkin (birth date August 17, 1852 in Lincolnshire (possibly Helpringham)to Fredrick and Sarah Atkin) came to the United States in 1882 with his wife Sarah and two daughters Annie and Mary Elizabeth. I keep hitting roadblocks trying to research my great-great grandparents (Fredrick and Sarah) who stayed in England. It appears the Atkin name was prevalent in that area at that time and "Fredrick" was a popular name. I would appreciate any help or suggestions you might have to continue my search.

Thank you,
    Larry Atkin

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hi Larry,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

Apologies for not yet replying to your PM but my life is a little hectic at the moment.

I've done a bit of research but,as you say, Atkin is a fairly common name, and sometimes has an extra 's' added to the end, the same way Atkins can sometimes lose the 's', in records. So, some questions, to enable me to positively join the dots and ensure that I am looking at the correct person as regards the Fredrick allegedly born in 1852.

Have you found him in the 1881 census with his wife and children. How old are he, his wife, and the children, and do you have the birth certificate of one of them to confirm their mother's maiden name?
    Do you have the marriage certificate of Frerick-allegedly-born-1852 and Sarah? If so, what is his father's name and occupation? And are ages given for Fredrick and Sarah?
    Have you found Fredrick-allegedly-born-1852 in the 1861 and 1871 census, with him hopefully being with his parents in at least 1861?