Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Looking for info

im new to this and i am trying to find out anything about my father in law all the details i have are as follows, if anyone can help i would be grateful
    O/tel. Powell wh
    P/sx 787147
    Class 133 ax division
    Hms scotia

Welcome to the British Genealogy Forum. We do aim to help, but minimalist posts can make it difficult!

The most important question that needs answering is whether or not he is currently alive. We are not allowed to post details of (potentially) living people in the open forum. If not, did he serve during WW2 and did he survive?

Famous for offering help & advice peter nicholl's Avatar

A couple of points which may help clear up some of the general Service related terms. HMS Scotia was a "Stone Frigate", a shore based establishment. It was a WW2 (1942-1946) Signals Training Establishment at Doonfoot Ayrshire, ex Butlins holiday Camp. In 1946 it moved to Lowton St Mary's, Warrington and was Paid Off 19 January 1948. All of which would seem to tie in with O/tel, Ordinary telegraphist.
    Oh and by the way welcome to the Forum.
    Peter Nicholl
    Researching:Nicholl,Boater, Haselgrove & Vaughan

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Quote Originally Posted by Lesley Robertson View Post
    Welcome to the British Genealogy Forum. We do aim to help, but minimalist posts can make it difficult!

The most important question that needs answering is whether or not he is currently alive. We are not allowed to post details of (potentially) living people in the open forum. If not, did he serve during WW2 and did he survive?
    Yes he died in 1988, we are not sure when he joi ed or when he left the navy, the last date we know he was definitely still in was 1946

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Thank you that is greatinfo. I am trying to get as much info as i can to do a scrap book for my husbands birthday but i have no idea what to do.