Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    teecee90

Default Amended Birth Certificates

Hi, Im still quite new to all this and would welcome some help.

I have come across an amended birth certificate, and there are two in the same family.

Sarah Hill married Ernest Gibbons in 1919 and had 2/3 children.

The oldest was born in 1921 and the birth certificate has this note .... "In No. 438. Col. 4 (father) omit Ernest Robert Gibbons and in Col. 6 (fathers occupation) omit General Labourer. Corrected on 22nd May 1925 on production of a statutory declaration made by Ernest Robert Gibbons and Sarah May Gibbons by me Cecil W Bell Superintendent Registrar."

The second sibling was born in 1923 and the birth certificate has this note .... "In No. 70. Col. 4 (father) omit Ernest Robert Gibbons and in Col. 6 (fathers occupation) omit General Labourer. Corrected on 23rd May 1925 by me Amy Pennington, Registrar on production of statutory declaration made by Ernest Robert Gibbons and Sarah May Gibbons."

I assume this means that the name and occupation of the father was added to both siblings in 1925 but left blank in the original certificates.

Interestingly, the third sibling (assumed) born 1926 to the same mother has the fathers name and occupation blank and not subsequently added.

Can anyone confirm that the notes on the certificates are indeed adding the fathers details? Bby saying "omit" I originally thought this meant the correction was to remove the fathers details, but that doesn't make much sense.

Also, any suggestions as to why this situation might happen, why the third siblings fathers details might remain blank and whether any of this should have any impact on the level of confidence I should have about whether the father for the first two siblings is indeed correct, given they were blank on the original certificates.

Finally, whether it is reasonable to assume that Ernest was also the father of the third sibling, or should I record this as father unknown?

Thanks

teecee90