Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Electoral roll enquiry

I have just stumbled across this brilliant resource after many years of unsuccessful researching for a mysterious Uncle.

This post is to ask for advice on finding who lived at an address at the time of the certificate I'm studying. Unfortunately the year is 1917 when I understand records were not taken. The years either side of this would be of interest though.
    The address in question is 301, Sherrard Road, Manor Park, Registration district West Ham.

I have been unable to find this information on Ancestry but hope that somone more skilled than me might have more success.

Here's hoping.......,

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello Lin,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

Firstly, I've moved your query to the 'Electoral Rolls' forum which is more appropriate.

When you have no name to search for, and have only the name of a road, it is quite difficult to find.
    You have to understand how the registers are compiled, starting with the parliamentary borough or division, then by ward, and then in alpha order of the street.

I had a real by remembering that at the top of at least the 1901 census returns there are a load of boxes beginning with civil parish, ecclesiastical parish and including (fourth along in 1901) one beginning 'Ward'. In 1901, 301 Sherrard Road is in Plashet Ward. It then gets a bit confusing because the box headed 'Parliamentary Borough or Division says (I think) Southern or Romford.

Ancestry allows you to browse the London electoral rolls. If you haven't spotted it, then look on the right-hand side of the page. Although you can select Romford as the county/borough the only district/ward available is Havering for 1964 and 1965. Plan B is to select West Ham, and Plashet Ward is listed there. But again only for 1964 and 1965, so it doesn't look as if Sherrard Road is online for earlier years.