Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default British Soldiers in Canadian Regiments?

Hi.
    I've been getting back into researching my family tree again, in particular the war time histories of my relations.

I am currently researching a great uncle on my (maternal) grandfathers side who died in battle in 1916.
    I've got information from his headstone in a local churchyard and know his birth and death dates.

However, the only name and details that I can find matching in the forces war records state that he was canadian and fought in a Canadian regiment!
    Im pretty sure i've got the right person, but in no way, shape or form was he Canadian. Indeed his (& my family) all appear to have resided in Sussex for generations.

So my thinking is, as a British solider, would he have been incorporated into a Canadian regiment? was this done? and have the records of his death then mis-recorded him as Canadian?

I'm quite new to all this, so any advice to help me solve this gratefully received.

Thanks

Famous for offering help & advice simmo1's Avatar

HI

Name would help, and service number.
    What does the gravestone have on it. It should be done by CWGC, so looking on that site would be a guide.
    I never like sites that just go on transcriptions, seeing original documents is always the best way.

regards

Robert
    Remembering

My Father 1819170 Lance Bombardier Robert Simpson 39/14 L.A.A. R.A.

Hi there.
    The Commonwealth War Graves commission has him listed as -

Private
    ALLEN, PERCIVAL
    Service Number 71347
    Died 07/06/1916
    Aged 27
    27th Bn.
    Canadian Infantry
    Husband of Margaret H. Allen, of 7, Mount Carmel Chambers, Kensington, London, England.
    MENIN ROAD SOUTH MILITARY CEMETERY
    I. P. 6.