Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Question Searching for info on surname Trinida/Trineda

I have recently found records for the birth of my great great grandfather in c 1786 in the "West Indies".

I am new to genealogy, and would appreciate any help as to where I should look.
    Many thanks.

I also have the surname options of Anderyo or Andaya

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello Fiona,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

I'm slightly confused by your message which starts "I have recently found records" and then goes to say "appreciate any help as to where I should look".
    Usually those sentences are the other way round, as in 'appreciate any help as to where I look to find records for xyz'.

I suggest that you tell us exactly what you found, and where you found it. (FamilySearch, someones' tree on Ancestry, transcription on Findmypast, etc.) That usually enables our sleuths to look at the record as well, and then hopefully have inspiration.

Presumably the surname variations come from various records in the years 2020-1786. It is a case of mainly one during a certain period and then changing, or does the spelling vary from year to year?

Pam
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Hi and welcome to Brit-Gen

On my second reading of your post I had the thought that maybe Trinida is not a surname but is actually the country Trinidad.
    I can't find any records for the surname Anderyo on familysearch.org but there are some for Andaya in the time frame. Do you have a first name for your gggrandfather?
    Christina
    Sometimes paranoia is just having all the facts.
    William Burroughs

Knowledgeable and helpful

Gloucestershire BMD Indexes has the marriage of an Amy Cook to a Francis Anderryo Trineda in Cirencester in 1848, but also has Amy Cook marrying a John Bowles.