Default The urge to dig deeper never goes away!

Hi All,

I have been researching my family history on-and-off for several years. Paid some subscriptions, found all the information overwhelming and just couldn't devote the time to keep going.

Retirement looms (18 months and counting)so here we go again.

I used Roots Magic software and luckily had all my previous work backed up on an external hard drive so I installed it onto an old lap top my son gave me and now I am ready to go once again.

I have a fullscap book which I use to write in pencil any info I get on each family member(one page each)birth, marriage, death, addresses, children etc etc. I find it helps to write things down.

My father's family should be straight foreward but with my Grandfather, whose name is Francis Richard Rixon, was always called Dick, and I have two further down the line with the same name Thomas Rixon. Just a couple of examples as to the challenges that lie ahead.

My Mother was Belgian and I have traced back to her parents so far.

My plan is to concentrate on my father's side first and not get distracted by the many off-springs, and theirs, and theirs, which is where the overwhelming bit comes in.

So that's me. A bit of a long winded intro, sorry. Time for a drink

Welcome to the British Genealogy Forum, Paul. You’ve hit one of the rules of genealogy, another is that if it were easy, it would not be fun!
    Have a look round, have a look at the “stickies” posted at the tops of some forums, and join in. If you had a long break, it’s likely that lots of new info is available...
    Enjoy!

Hi Paul and welcome to Brit-Gen
    I can see why your great grandfather is causing you trouble as there are no birth, death and marraige records on FreeBMD for a Francis Richard Rixon but there are a great number for just Francis Rixon and one census and birth record for a Dick Rixon.