Thread: Hello

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Hello

Hi. My name is Elizabeth. My husbands grandfather supposedly lived in the St Joseph’s home enfield. His name was George Henry sampson born 1889. We would like to know why and how long. Thank you.

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello Elizabeth,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.
    I'm no expert on those sort of records but we do need a little more information before we are able to give more than very general information.
    I'm presuming George is the one whose birth was registered in December quarter 1889 Sculcoates registration district, and who in the 1891 census was living in Sutton with his parents John and Elizabeth, and siblings Mary (12), Alice (8), Tom (6), Fred (5), and Sarah (3 months). Census reference RG12/3912 folio 36 pages 9 and 10.

In 1901 the family (with additional younger children) are living in Preston (near Hull) RG13/4481 folio 24 page 16.
    In 1911 it's just John and Elizabeth with their three of their four youngest children living in Stoneferry. Census reference RG14/28580 SN135.
    I can't easily find George in 1911, but presumably he was alive.
    Do you know when and where/who George married and when he died? Do you have a copy of his death certificate? (i.e. is it possible that he died in St Joseph's home?)

However, having found who I thought was 'your' George, bearing in mind your location, I now have doubts about finding the correct person. Googling 'St Joseph's home Enfield' brings up results implying that it was a children's home, and not a home for older people/convalescent home as I first thought. https://www.childrenshomes.org.uk<br ...h/?LMCL=E21z6u

I have now found a plain (no middle name) George Sampson in the 1901 census, living in St Joseph's home, Enfield. RG13/1275 folio 105 page 8. George is aged 11, and his birthplace is given as London.
    If this is your George, then see the link in the previous paragraph for surviving records.

Pam