soden55

Default Heddle in Edinburgh not Orkney

Hello, I am new to searching for Scottish ancestors, and am having trouble finding the records. Nothing original only some transcriptions, so what is the go here ?
    Anyway the Heddle family, in St Cuthbert's Edinburgh Midlothian. The 2 transcriptions I can find on Family Search are a birth in 1841 of the son David and then the 1841 census, with father John Heddle age 25, wife Jean age 25, daughter Jean age 3 and son David age 5 months. Fathers occupation is given as a bine Manf. Does any one know what this might be.
    Then the family disappear. Supposedly the son David was apprenticed at some stage as a tailor in Glasgow ? And in 1865 he comes to Adelaide Australia and I have him from then on.
    Are Scottish records not available for some reason.
    Thank you

Scottish records are among the easiest to find. You just have to look in the right place.

I see that you have found the Scots area of our forums, so go up a level to the General Scottish section and you will find a collection of messages “stuck” st the top. Each one covers a different area of records, what they contain and and where they can be found.
    As a start, go to Scotland’s People, and open an account. You can then look around and do superficial searches, but you will have to buy credits to see the detailed records. The LDS site has indexes for the 19th century and earlier, but Scotland’s People is the source of scans of original documents.

Growing old Disgracefully

could this be his parents marriage

Name: John Heddle
    Marriage Date: 14 Oct 1839
    Marriage Place: Saint Cuthberts,Edinburgh,Midlothian,Scotland
    Spouse: Jean Donnet
    FHL Film Number: 1066765

Scotland, Select Births and Baptisms, 1564-1950
    Spouse: Jean Donnet
    Child: David Heddle
    date of birth - 04 Jan 1841
    This is on Ancestry but thats all I can see

could this be your man's father's birth

Baptism Date: 20 Dec 1811