Thread: hi im curious

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default hi im curious

Hi everyone,

im Stefanie,its my first time researching,and using forums, anywho, no one in my family has ever tried looking and i have always been curious of whom our grandfather is or was, my mum 67 in age and her older brother 70 next May have never met their dad, all they know is that his name is John Charles Perry, which is printed on their birth certificates, and it states that he was a Merchant Navy Seamen, I dont know if it said Manchester or Lancaster or something similar, no birth date or any other information, my mum has never met her mum,in which my mum passed away last year, so my question is were do i start, all i know is that my mothers, mum Frances Dawn Jones lived in New Zealand, when she met John Charles Perry, so i dont know how they met.

So if anyone can point me in the right direction, if it is a start or an end its ok too.

Brick wall demolition expert!

Hi Stephanie,

I'm guessing that your mum was born in New Zealand? If so I don't know what it contains, but from reading your post I'm not clear if you have a copy of it, because you seem unclear about where he came from. If you don't have it then you need to get it as that would be your first starting point.

Where your grandparents married? If so you need to try and get a copy of their marriage certificate as that might give you valuable information.

If John Charles Perry was a British merchant seaman it's possible that there might be records for him at the National Archives in London, but you would probably have to employ someone to do the research for you.
    https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/...ents-1939-1950

https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/...t-researchers/

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

hi megan