Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default hello one and all

i am new to all this research and forum stuff, so please bear with me ....i am generally researching family history and i am currently checking a few back stories as it were.
    My first problem to overcome and the need for a question if I may, regards interpreting search results for Samuel Green pre Napoleonic, I see 2 results, 57th foot & 95th rifles, however something in the back of my head tells me the 95th Rifles were not established until 1800. Is this the same chap and then drafted into the 95th Rifles ?
    I had an answer for this then, heeps of many thanks to you.
    Now I have seen the wealth of information, I maybe here for sometime....

sqWark
    Last edited by sqWarkbox; 21-10-2019 at 12:53 AM. Reason: cheap keyboard

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello sqWark,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

If you came to us via Forces War Records, this will tell you the connection.
    https://www.british-genealogy.com/fo...rs-Please-Read

It's always best if you tell us where you found your information. Often details are available on more than one site, but the amount of information can vary between the sites.

You need to bear in mind how common a name might be, and in your case, Green is a fairly common surname.

I've found two records for Samuel Green, both relating to the Peninsular Medal Roll, and I would say that they are two different men because they've received different clasps. One having three, the other nine or ten.

I found this about the 57th Foot.
    https://www.nam.ac.uk/explore/57th-w...-regiment-foot
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/57th_(...giment_of_Foot

Searching for 95th Rifles found this (which is probably what you found).
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rifle_...nsort%27s_Own)

Pam
    a non-expert on military stuff
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Hi sqWark, and welcome to Brit-Gen.