Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Canadian searching for Great Grandfather

I am relatively new to genealogy, having begun a couple years ago with Ancestry.ca, where I was able to do fairly well tracing my family tree. As a child and young adult, I often heard tales of my great grandfather, Charles Tingey, who had allegedly abandoned my great grandmother, Caroline Tingey, and their many children, to return to England at the turn of the 19th century. Being the romantic in the family, I refused to believe he would do such a thing, and began searching for him, knowing only that he left Canada sometime between 1901 and 1911, bound for England we think, and that he sent a letter home from Ceylon in 1931, with direction to send correspondence to an address in Manchester, England. He would have been almost 80 at the time, having been born in 1852 in Luton. I've been unable to find a date of death for him, nor ship logs revealing his arrival in England from Canada, nor the reason why he would have been in Ceylon! I never realized there were so many Tingeys in England. I am intrigued and excited to learn more. Any ideas on where to go from here would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the British-Genealogy forums Valerie
    Once family stories get a grip on us they won't let go will they? Trying to prove/disprove them can take up a good few years of our lives.
    I have moved your post from the Introduce yourself forum to the Lancashire forum where it will attract more attention and you have given us enough detail to start the search I think. If not we will ask.
    Christina
    Sometimes paranoia is just having all the facts.
    William Burroughs

Ok I am back

Do you have Charles on any UK census? Who are his parents? Did he marry in England or in Canada? Do you know when he arrived in Canada? Where abouts in Canada did he and his family live? Names, ages and where born for children?