Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default American looking for Hallam

Hi all! I'm new to this so please bear with me! I have found a marriage certificate for William Hallam and Harriet Bould Kent in 1865. They are my great great grandparents. I am pretty far along finding the Bould lineage but have not had much success on the Hallam side. The certificate states that they were both widowed and he was from Nottingham. A surprise to me, since most of my ancestors are from Warwickshire and Staffordshire! Anyway, it would be greatly appreciated of anyone could help me.

Knowledgeable and helpful warncoort's Avatar

Suggest you search for William prior to his marriage,census should include his parents and then look for his baptism.
    William's profile on your Ancestry tree shows mostly records for his daughter!

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.

Hello kittwoll,

Welcome to British-Genealogy.

Unlike warmcoort I'm having problems finding your tree on Ancestry, and I'm having difficulty finding William and Harriet in a census, so a few more details are required.

What other details are on the marriage certificate? Specifically, ages of William and Harriet, addresses, occupations, and names and occupations of fathers. Where did the marriage take place? I know the district, but there's lots of places in the district.

Were they still in England in 1871?

Pam
    Vulcan XH558 - “Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”

Knowledgeable and helpful warncoort's Avatar

Pam,
    1871 census,living in Aston,Warwickshire
    William Hallam 37,bricklayer,born Nottingham
    Harriet Hallam,37,born Stafford
    Another tree has marriage on 21 Oct 1865,Christ Church,Burton Upon Trent,Staffordshire.
    Eric

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.