Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Zephaniah Smith of Cranford

Hello, this is my first time here.
    I am trying to find Zephaniah Smith of Cranford, possibly a Quaker but not definitely. I have a Quaker marriage certificate dated January 1722 in which ZS is described as 'late of Cranford in the County of Northampton Barber Chyrurgeon, deceased'. I do not know where he was born or when he died. His son is Thomas Smith of St Olave in Southwark, London, married Mary Gray.
    I'm sorry if this is too much detail. I don't know where to go from here.
    Many thanks.

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

I note my post has had 44 views but I've not had any replies. Does anyone in the Northamptonshire forum have any suggestions for what I can do next? Thanks again.

It can sometimes take weeks or longer for replies to come in, I’m afraid, especially with early searches. The trick is to check another line while you wait.
    Was the son also a surgeon/medic?

Growing old Disgracefully

Quote Originally Posted by JLouiseP View Post
    Hello, this is my first time here.
    I am trying to find Zephaniah Smith of Cranford, possibly a Quaker but not definitely. I have a Quaker marriage certificate dated January 1722 in which ZS is described as 'late of Cranford in the County of Northampton Barber Chyrurgeon, deceased'. I do not know where he was born or when he died. His son is Thomas Smith of St Olave in Southwark, London, married Mary Gray.
    I'm sorry if this is too much detail. I don't know where to go from here.
    Many thanks.
    So is the marriage cert you have for his son Thomas Smith marriage to Mary Grey ???

Do you have any dates apart from January 1722 what is Thomas's date of birth, was he born in st Olave.

Famous for offering help & advice

For Cranford, Northamptonshire archives would be a good place to try. Unfortunately their online catalogue seems out of action at the moment.