Starting to feel at home

Default DNA Cousin Matches

Can anyone help or advise me please. I have two DNA matches on that are giving me problems. One says that they could be a First Cousin once removed - Second Cousin once removed. The second one says that they are a Second Cousin - Second Cousin once removed. The two matches also match each other. I have looked at their trees and mine and I can find the link between the two of them, however I can find nothing to link either of them to me. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start trying to work it out. Any advice at all would be welcome. Many thanks. Julie

Valued member of Brit-Gen

Hi Julpre, I am no expert, but has always believed that the removed bit is Generations, if I am wrong, someone will come along and correct me.

Robert

Settling in

Hi Julpre
    Are there any geographical similarities between your tree and theirs? Could there be a clandestine relationship between one of your ancestors and theirs a few generations back?
    Sue

Starting to feel at home

Hi Julpre,

Close cousin matches to people you are not aware of does, as Suekilp said, very often point to a NPE in the not too distant past. Autosomal DNA has a knack of revealing past family secrets!

Have you tried contacting the cousin matches directly to ask if they have any ideas how you fit into their family trees? Even where surnames don't fit, sometimes locations can point you in the right direction.