Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Richard Purcell

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Default Richard Purcell

I am a novice at family history so please be gentle with me. I apologise up front for my lack of skills and knowledge. What I know so far is Richard Purcell married Mary Ryan in Ireland. They had a daughter Honora, my great great grandmother who was born in Tipperary in 1837. I am trying to find out how and when they arrived in Melbourne Victoria Australia. Thank you. Kindest regards

Welcome to the British Genealogy Forum. Please don't worry about being a novice - that happened to all of us at some time! Don't be afraid to ask, if you feel that you want to edit something, as a Mod.
    I left a post HERE which suggests things to include to get the most out of a query...

We have members who are expert in finding info about people moving to Oz - I am sure one of them will be along soon. To attract their attention, I am moving this thread to the Australia forum, but can easily move it elsewhere if you ask.

A fountain of knowledge

Hi,

It appears that Honora married Edward Searle in 1856. If this is correct it helps to narrow arrival dates down. So arriving between 1837 and 1856. [Hope i have the right Honora marrying in 1856]

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Thank you Shippo, yes Honora (Hanora) did marry Edward Searle (my Great Great grandfather) on 3rd June 1856 in Melbourne Vic. I am trying to find out when and how Honora, her parents Richard & Mary (maybe Margaret), and (we think) brother Nicholas arrived in Melbourne. Anne Purcell was witness at Honora & Edwards marriage, so assume she was born in Australia. Any help is truly appreciated as I am a real novice, but loving the journey.

Super Moderator - Completely bonkers and will never change.