Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer to Brit-Gen

Question Carruthers mystery

Hi
    I have been researching my branch of the Carruthers family for nearly 10 years. Initially it was simply to discover what happened to my grandfathers sister, but then grew from there to me being able to build a family tree as far back as 1744. As it turned out my grandfathers sister was actually an adopted child, something I learnt from a fellow forum user from Canada - one mystery solved. Although I have face value family information about my grandfather and his (assumed) parents that has led me back to 1744, the other mystery for me, and something which would lend authenticity to the tree, is being unable to track his birth certificate through the various genealogy forums and UK birth records. He does appear in a number of census records though. I now wonder if in fact he too was an adopted child. Adoption records in Scotland, I understand, were not kept at that time. My grandfather is George Frederick CARRUTHERS, born 1898 Midlothian, Edinburgh, Scotland. He emigrated with his new wife Mary Annie McMillan (née) RUSSELL to Australia in about 1922. His (assumed) parents were George Russell CARRUTHERS (born 1871) and Maud Jane Glencairn Muir (née) FITZSIMMONDS. Any suggestions or anybody with knowledge about him would be appreciated.

Hallo Jcarruthers and a warm welcome to British Genealogy. As your post is more of a query, I have moved it from the Introduce Yourself forum, in the hope that it will attract more views.
    Sue Mackay
    Insanity is hereditary - you get it from your kids

Newcomer to Brit-Gen

With the help of a genealogist I have now discovered that my grandfather (George Frederick Carruthers) was in fact adopted. He was actually born George Fotheringham Carruthers to biological parents Frederick Lockwood Logan Carruthers and Annie Reddie Carruthers (née Banks) but adopted by George Russell Carruthers and Maud Carruthers.